What You Did Not Know About Mauritius

When you think about Mauritius, you probably think about an island paradise – and you would be correct. However, there is so much more to this beautiful holiday destination. Not only is it known for its sugar plantations, local rum distilleries, dramatic mountains, and beautiful lagoons, but did you know that it is home to a volcano?

There is so much to learn about this tropical paradise, and we will share some interesting titbits below

13 Things You Should Know About Mauritius

  1. The country known as Mauritius is made up of multiple islands, one of which is the island of Mauritius.
  2. This island of Mauritius has a volcanic origin, is surrounded by coral reefs, and is only 28 miles wide and 40 miles long.
  3. The country was first visited in the Middle Ages by Arab sailors. They named the island Dina Arobi.
  4. The first European to set foot on Mauritius was Portuguese navigator Diogo Fernandes. He then changed the name to Ilha do Cirne.
  5. Admiral Wybrand Van Warwyck led a Dutch squadron to the island in 1598. He then decided to change the name for the third name, this time to Mauritius after Prince Maurice van Nassau. The Dutch then established a colony in 1638 but left the island abandoned in 1710.
  6. The French then took over the island in 1715, and once again, the name had to change. The island was now called Isle de France. In 1735 Port Louis was established as a naval base and a shipbuilding centre by French governor Bertrand-François Mahé de La Bourdonnais.
  7. Mauritius formed part of the power struggle between the French and the British. And although the French won the Battle of Grand Port, the British were still able to land at Cap Malheureux a few months later. In 1810 France surrendered, however, their terms of surrender included allowing their people to keep their land and property, use the French language, and follow French law. The Brits reverted the name to Mauritius.
  8. Mauritius became independent from its British rulers on 12 March 1968. This led to the establishment and adoption of the national flag known as the “Four Bands”. The nation is a democracy with elections held every five years.
  9. Mauritians speak Mauritian Creole, however, other languages spoken on the island include Bhojpuri, French, and English.
  10. While English is the official language of Mauritius, it is only spoken by one percent of the population.
  11. Sugarcane is grown on most of the cultivated land in Mauritius, accounting for 15 percent of the country’s exports.
  12. If you want to visit in the summertime, you will need to go between November and April, although it is warm and humid during this time. From June to September, you will experience the cool winter.
  13. The dodo bird was only found in Mauritius. It was essentially a giant pigeon, and due to a lack of predators, they lost their ability to fly and started weighing around 50 pounds.

If you hadn’t already considered visiting the home of the dodo before and still want to find your perfect match bonus, we’re sure that the history of the island will convince you to discover more about this tropical paradise.

Posted in Travel and tagged .